Creativity

Over the last few weeks I’ve thought alot about the issue of creativity. On my mission to Melbourne, Australia, my mission president, President Overton, would often say in fireside talks or zone conferences, “What you think about is your God.” Later, as I began to listen to positive thinking tapes, Brian Tracey would always say, “You become what you think about most of the time.” In reading about extremely successful people, what I have found is that for the most part, successful people think about their fields non-stop. When they’re not working they are still thinking about their work. It’s not work for them, it’s enjoyable. Einstein could be found discussing physics and the latest scientific paper he read with his wife Maric or with different professors and academics all the time. He didn’t stop thinking about physics. He once said, “Creativity is the greatest form of intelligence.” Obviously, he showed us through his thought experiments on Time and Space, Relativity, etc. that he was correct.
The point is we think about things we like and want. People who do what they love end up thinking about it all the time, and therefore clock in well more than 40 hours a week “on the job”. See their mind is always on the job, when they go to bed, when they get up, when they’re on the pot. Caged Wisdom referenced Henry Eyring’s father saying, “If you’re not thinking about science when you’re going to the bathroom, you should probably do something different. Because there are people out there who are thinking about it, and they are the ones who are going to be successful.” How true it is. We all have passions and talents for certain things. Why don’t we forget doing what other people want us to do and do the things we really want?
I’ve been absolutely envigorated with a new drive ever since coming up with a new business plan and deciding that’s what I will be working on this next year. I think about business all the time, and find that when it comes to creativity, this is what I’m really good at. I feel I have a knack for good business ideas. I can envision business ventures vividly. I’m good at sales. So why am I not spending my time doing it when it’s what I’m really good at?
What we’re creative at and what we think about are almost always things we’re good at and things we enjoy. We should turn our thoughts into actions, and in individual fashion make our society and world somehow better by our having loved our work.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Creativity

  1. darren says:

    I couldn’t agree more. Which, incidentally, means that I need to find some way to get paid for watching sports, thinking about girls, and ways to hurt those that wrong me. Do you think there are any postings on Monster.com for something like that?

Leave a Reply

